16 thoughts on “Clam

  1. I like that very much John. Smashing composition and well spotted. I’m not sure I’d have seen this picture. I must start taking note of the more intimate landscape. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That is a big clam! About 3-4 inches perhaps, judging by the gull foot prints? Were both clam valves still attached? I am thinking the clam was heavy, perhaps full of water and thus caused the sand erosion pattern, which is kind of unusual and very dramatic in this picture. It’s a superb picture I think.
    David

    1. Thanks David.

      I’m pretty sure it was a half shell–albeit a large one. I generally photograph close-ups like this during the first moments of daylight (or at the end of the day). Light coming in at such a low angle tends to amplify patterns and textures.

  3. I love this picture. The print in the sand gives the clam movement, as though clam and gul have crossed paths, both in their element in nature. There’s a solid and correct feeling to this image; its just-so.

Comments are closed.