Runs Good and Sweet Pea

The old trucks are from New Mexico, a place with lots of aging Chevys and plenty of wildflowers.

The picture on top is called Runs Good and the other one is Sweet Pea. You can click on them for enlargements.

Paint endures out west,  mostly because of the lack of humidity. On occasion, you’ll find abandoned vehicles from the 1930’s with some original color. You might recall this one from a few weeks ago:

https://johntodaro.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/long-term-parking/

My own truck has spent far too many days on the salt lick of eastern Long Island. It’s got more rust than a box of wet nails…but it still “runs good”.

19 thoughts on “Runs Good and Sweet Pea

  1. Years ago, my sister and her husband owned an old 1940s-ish pickup they named “Elmer”. Even today, whenever anyone in our family sees an old truck, we’ll call it by that name.

    Love this series, John.

  2. Two fantastic shots. You should really think about doing something with all your shots of old cars and trucks. I think they’ve got mileage (excuse the pun) and are timeless images. Perhaps a set of postcards or a calendar? I enjoyed getting these through in an email. Best wishes, PC

  3. These are great. And I’d liked that earlier one you reference in the earlier link as well. Gorgeous. I like worn/old things too, the character that comes through. I’m glad you’re doing this series as well. I always wonder when I see something like this (rare here as there is little “open space” here) what was the last straw, what was the punctuation on the story, particularly when what was left may have no longer been useful but is still beautiful.

  4. I love the “1500” on Runs Good too. In the field. And how that number has lasted so clearly. I like what nativetotheplace says about punctuation…. The linked photo there, the shape of that one, I thought of a comma. I suppose it could be a colon too, but I thought it was curved like a comma. Anyway.
    Sweet Pea is a beautiful title for that red one too. 🙂

  5. i look for edges, and when i say “look”…it isn’t always with my eyes. and some edges are not exactly visible. but where there is an edge, there is at once friction and cooperation. the “1500” takes my breath away….the friction of a number in a field of flowers offers a contrast, an edge that begs for some sort of poem.

      1. contrary is the evidence that something is ringing true. just like you said about the batteries. we need some of both.

Comments are closed.