5 thoughts on “Last Light, Sagg Main

  1. I love this. The sand seems to lap up to the fence like water, and you follow it up and then you see it’s not water because it can’t get through. (?) Maybe. 🙂 I love the post lines and the lines in the sand, and the wavy line of the bottom of the posts. And the low perspective. … What do many photographers have against zoom lenses? Noticed that in a previous comment. Or why don’t you use them, is probably a better question. If you care to answer, only. I can probably google, too. 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comments Rose. Your question about zoom lenses is a really good one….and I’ll give it a shot:

      I favor interchangeable (or “prime”) lenses because they’re faster, smaller and lighter. I’ve also been using them for years with a variety of cameras, and haven’t owned too many zooms. Am I a traditionalist? Maybe…;)

      Anyway…a “faster” lens is one which is capable of opening up to a much wider aperture, a quality which permits the photographer to the select the lowest ISO’s on the camera, especially in dim light.

      For example, the widest aperture on a zoom might be F3.5 (at its widest angle). A comparable prime lens would typically open up to maybe— f 2.8 (and on expensive lenses, possibly wider). When wide open, the f 2.8 lens lets in more light than an f3.5 and therefore it’s described as “faster”.

      The idea is that the faster lenses are often very usable at the lowest ISO’s, even in low light. Someone shooting the same low-light scene with a slower zoom will be forced to select a higher ISO. This can result in a “noisier” image. If you’re trying to optimize the quality of your images, you’d want to stick to the lowest ISO as much as you can. I make prints for my living, so quality matters a lot to me because my pictures are sometimes blown up large. This doesn’t matter as much if you’re only posting online.

      Because a prime lens is much smaller and lighter than a zoom, it also permits you to shoot candid images, “street” photographs, portraits etc…with much more ease.

      Another point about prime lenses is that there’s less glass. Some photographers believe this helps the images to be more accurate and distortion-free…although the quality of glass in zoom lenses nowadays is quite good.

      There are some arguments FOR owning zoom lenses:

      With prime lenses you have to move yourself (and your camera, tripod, bag.. etc) in order to take the picture you want. With a zoom, the lens is the only thing moving. Both styles of shooting are quite distinct in terms of creative process. After I’ve been using a zoom for a few hours, I feel awkward with a prime lens and have to sort of “rewire” myself.

      I hope some of this helps a little…it is a bit hard to understand so please comment back if you want me to clarify anything. 🙂

      1. That is perfect. Thanks so much for explaining this so clearly. My camera has just the built-in zoom, I can’t take it off, but one of these days, I’d love to get a new camera, and etc. As soon as I get funds, it is first on my list…. So I am storing all this info for the future…. 🙂

Comments are closed.