Old Red

I found this exhausted truck in Utah, not too far from the crimson rocks of Bryce Canyon.  One wonders:  is everything is southern Utah turning this color?

A close up:

https://johntodaro.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/semi-abstract-photographs-rusty-red-trucks/detailing/

I’ve owned about fifteen vehicles but I’ve only owned one that was red—-a VW Bug that was my very first car.  The car was red, but I was closer to green because I was only 18.

Sadly, my recollections of all the rest of my vehicles are starting to fade. When I reflect back, that VW bug really stands out. It seems that all the red things in my memory have a much longer expiration date.

I like my red photographs, so I try to cut this one a lot of slack.  Problem is: I shot it on Fuji Velvia, so I had to decrease the red saturation.

Here’s some quotes about the color red from four different artists:

“Red is the ultimate cure for sadness.” –Bill Blass

“I love red so much that I almost want to paint everything red.”–Alexander Calder

“Red is one of the strongest colors, it’s blood, it has a power with the eye. That’s why traffic lights are red I guess, and stop signs as well…”–Keith Haring

“Red, of course, is the colour of the interior of our bodies. In a way it’s inside out, red.” –Anish Kapoor

8 thoughts on “Old Red

Comments are closed.