Black and White Dune Photography IV

White Sands National Monument is in southern New Mexico, not far from Las Cruces and the Mexican border. It preserves a very different dune system–gypsum sands which are brilliantly white.  Yucca thrives here and helps give the landscape its distinctive look.

For this picture, I used a Contax G2 Rangefinder camera, with its Zeiss 90mm Sonnar telephoto.

I took some color photographs earlier that afternoon. Here they are, at another post:

https://johntodaro.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/contax-g2-photographs-white-sands-national-monument/

10 thoughts on “Black and White Dune Photography IV

    1. Thanks and I appreciate the comment. I sometimes tweak the files into a bit higher contrast once I see them on here, but only rarely permit the highlight and shadow detail to vanish completely. (I actually tweaked the contrast of this picture since I first uploaded it this morning.) As you know, extremes can look appropriate on some pictures, but they can also look kinda harsh. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but I still really savor the look of a well made silver print…lots of detail at both ends!

    1. If you ever get a chance to visit Santa Fe, try to go south to White Sands.
      It’s a really remarkable landscape, which photographs barely do justice.

  1. Both this one and the one following it are beautiful and capture some of the uniqueness of this landscape.

Comments are closed.