East Hampton Train Station, 1987

It’s August first. On queue this morning is a vintage picture of our local train station from twenty five years ago. I shot the scene employing one of two Fuji 645 cameras that I was playing around with at the time. It was a color negative, and the image was a time exposure. Over the years, the area around Railroad Avenue has changed considerably. In 1987, the area had a scruftier look. I could be wrong, but it seemed to be a part of town that conveyed a sense of being “way out east”. When we moved here earlier that year, that’s exactly what we were looking for. We were not moving into the Hamptons, so much as we were moving onto the South Fork. There was a difference, although admittedly it was mostly a state of mind.

Years have passed. The picture is a window into former times. Looking back, I’d have to say I was fortunate to have caught the building in early evening (November, as I recall). In the distance, the sun has sunk away. The lamps have gone on and have struck up an agreement of sorts, between natural and artificial light.  As is often the case, such agreements are lonely ones.

3 thoughts on “East Hampton Train Station, 1987

  1. This brings back so many memories for me – when I was a kid I was put on the LIRR and I was picked up by my grandmother at this station. You captured it as I remember it – but my memories go back to my trips in the mid-fifties!!

    1. Things looked pretty much the same around Railroad Avenue until the last 15 years. It sounds like you have very pleasant memories of life in East Hampton with your grandparents!

Comments are closed.