Montauk Lighthouse from Turtle Cove

Enough already. We’ve had too much snow and we’ve almost had enough with lighthouse pictures. It’s mid-March and only a week away from Montauk’s parade. I cheerfully enter my guilty plea (at least as far as the snow is concerned). It seems I’ve posted a winter image with only a week to go…how thoughtless!

But when it come to an overabundance of lighthouse scenes – not so fast. Lighthouses are classic and historic. They’re icons. In many places, they are the defining structures. The truth is, I have a tendency to photograph them and if they put up some new ones, I’ll be sure to pay a visit. It’s clearly a bit of an obsession. I even like my friends’ pictures of them.  There’s plenty of lighthouses on the East End, but only one is Montauk.  In this part of the world, no view is better than the one from Turtle Cove.

If you look closely, there’s a few surfers bobbing around. It couldn’t have been too cold!